Welcome

First of all, welcome to my blog. I´m super excited that we´re finally up and running. And for those of you who don´t know who I am and what I´m doing, this is my story;

My name is Tiril Sjåstad Christiansen and I´m a professional freeskier from a small mountain village in Norway, called Geilo. I started skiing right after I could walk and from that day, skiing has been my passion. I have two siblings, one sister and one brother. My sister was a really good alpine skier back in the days, and competed in the European Cups. My brother is doing biathlon, and he is one of the best in Norway. He´s currently traveling all over the world like me, competing in World Cups. My grandpa used to be an alpine skier as well and competed in three World Championships and one Olympic Games. My dad was a ski racing coach and my mom was also an alpine skier and she did “telemark” as well. So, it wasn´t really a choice for me. Here I am, 20 years old, traveling the world together with the Norwegian Freeski team, doing what I love the most, skiing.

I competed in my first international competition when I was 14 years old, it was a halfpipe competition in Austria. And from that day, a lot of things have happened. The next year I traveled to America for the first time. A few skiers from Norway had been taken out to compete in the World Championships in Park City, Utah. I was still young and learning, and this was a really good experience for me. In 2012, when I was 16, I got the opportunity to compete in the Youth Olympic Games in Innsbruck, where I won silver in Halfpipe. The same year I also won silver in the Junior World Championships in Slopestyle.

17 years old one of my biggest dreams came true. I got an invitation to compete in the X Games in Aspen. I was an underdog and didn´t really know that many people in the industry. This week changed my life and I ended up winning the whole thing. Just a few months later, I also won silver at the European X Games in France. After having the best year of my life and aiming towards the Olympic Games in Sochi, I torn my ACL in December, only two months before the games. This had been my dream since I was little and I refused to give up on my olympic dream. Four days before the departure to Sochi, I skied for the first time since the accident. It felt fine and I got thumbs up from the doctors. But my olympic experience didn´t least too long. My knee couldn’t handle the impact in the landings and I had to fly back home to Norway and get surgery.

In November, 9 months later, I was back on skis. And in February, three months after, I competed in my first competition back. After getting 3rd place here, I couldn’t really have asked for a better comeback. I ended up getting 2nd overall in the World Cup and finished the season with two golds in the Norwegian Championships.

I kicked off this season by winning the first World Cup in New Zealand, and after getting 5th in last weeks World Cup in Mammoth, I still have the yellow bib. One of my goals this season is to win the World Cup overall. In December I also competed in my first Dew Tour, where I won silver.

This week I was back in Aspen and X Games, after two years out with injury. I ended up getting silver and was lucky to share the podium with my Norwegian team mate, Johanne Killi who got third. Now we´re back in Breckenridge, Colorado, training for the next competition which is going to be held in Boston, at the Fenway Arena. After that we´re going to South Korea for another World Cup before we´re heading home for the Oslo X Games. I´m super excited for whats ahead and can`t wait to share my journey with you guys!

dav
– When I used to race –
dav
– Back in the days at Geilo –
IMG_0019
– World Cup/New Zealand –
orca_share_media1440795277019
– World Cup/New Zealand –
IMG_0071
– Still holding on to that yellow bib –
IMG_0965
 -Dew Tour –
Killi-Christiansen
– Johanne and I –
IMG_1871
– This is how i feel about being back in Aspen –
IMG_1877
– Press conference –
IMG_1959
– X Games –
IMG_1902
– SILVER –
IMG_1954
– KYGO consert –

– Tiril

Leave a Reply

